ASHRM John C. West Writing Excellence Award

The ASHRM John C. West Writing Excellence Award recognizes exceptional writing in the Journal of Health Care Risk Management.

2022 Award Recipient

"Implementing a human factors approach to RCA²: Tools, processes and strategies"
Douglas A. Wiegmann, PhD
Laura J. Wood, PhD
Demetrius B. Solomon, MS
Scott A. Shappell, PhD


Past Recipients

2021: "The effects of the COVID-19 pandemic on risk management practice: A report from the epicenter of the epicenter in New York City"
Victorio R. Tolentino, JD, MPH, NP | Louise Derevlany, Esq. | Cassandra DeLaMothe, Esq. CPHRM | Suzanne Vick, RN, BSN | Luba Chalyavski, RN, MSN
2020: "Harnessing the power of medical malpractice data to improve patient care"
Dana Siegal, RN, CPHRM, CPPS | John Swift, MBA | Janell Forget, RN, BSN, JD | Tim Slowick, MBA
2019: "Sustaining and spreading quality improvement: Decreasing intrapartum malpractice risk"
Palmira Santos, PhD | Anju Joglekar, PhD  | Kristen Faughnan, MPA | Jennifer Darden, BSN, RNC  | Lisa Masters, RN, CPHRM  | Ann Hendrich, RN, PhD, FAAN  | Christine Kocot McCoy, JD
2018: "A Framework for Operationalizing Risk: A Practical Approach to Patient Safety"
Simon C. Mathews, MD | Kathleen M. Sutcliffe, PhD | Margaret R. Garrett, Esq. | Peter J. Pronovost, MD, PhD | Lori Paine, DrPH, MS, RN  
2017: "Implementing an error disclosure coaching model: A multicenter case study"
Andrew A. White, MD | Douglas M. Brock, PhD | Patricia I. McCotter, RN, JD, CPHRM, CPC | Sarah E. Shannon, PhD | Thomas H. Gallagher, MD      
2016: "From To Err Is Human to Improving Diagnosis in Health Care: The risk management perspective"
Robert F. Bunting Jr., PhD, MHA, DFASHRM, CPHRM, CPHQ, MT(ASCP) | Daniel P. Groszkruger, JD, MPH, DFASHRM, CPHRM 
2015: "EMTALA obligation for psychiatric patients"
2014: "Improved obstetric safety through programmatic collaboration"
Dena Goffman, MD, FACOG | Michael Brodman, MD | Arnold J. Friedman, MD | Howard Minkoff, MD, FACOG
2013: "Communicate, don’t litigate: The Schwartz Center Connections Program"
Beth A. Lown, MD | Karen Gareis, PhD | William Kormos, MD | Gila Kriegel, MD | Daniel Leffler, MD, MS | Jim Richter, MD
2009: Robert Bunting Jr., Joyce Benton, Donald Morgan
2003: Robin Kroll and Scott Kroll
2002: Grena Porto
2001: Kathleen Rice Simpson
2000: Mary Marta
1999: Robert Bunting Jr., Joyce Benton, Donald Morgan
1998: Kathleen Shostek
1997: Marshall Kapp
1996: Edward Bartlett
1995: Corbette Doyle
1994: Ronni Solomon