2024 ASHRM Awards

ASHRM Innovation Award


The ASHRM Innovation Award (formerly Patient Safety Award) recognizes organizational excellence in the various domains of risk management and celebrates the achievements of risk professionals in promoting patient safety across the health care continuum.

The 2024 application is open through June 27:

Submit Your Application



Award Eligibility and Selection Criteria

The ASHRM Innovation Award is given annually to an organization which has been innovative and advanced the safety of patients. All ASHRM members are eligible to submit an application based on work done at their organization. Candidates may self-nominate only.

Selection Criteria:

  • Demonstrates a new approach that has not yet gained national exposure
  • Advances an organizational excellence in the various domains of risk management 
  • Promotes an organizational culture of safety
  • Supports collaboration with other providers and within the continuum of care
  • Provides a system that can be replicated or adapted by other organizations

All Applicants Must:

  • Complete all sections of the application
  • Provide supplemental materials as requested
  • Submit an application

What Do the Recipients Get?

  • Engraved prestigious crystal award
  • Receives up to two complimentary registrations to ASHRM's annual conference during which the award is received
  • Will be honored during the ASHRM in-person annual conference
  • Winners of the ASHRM Innovation Award will be provided the opportunity to present their submission during a bite-sized learning session. This is a 20-minute speaking opportunity on the Solution Center floor during the in-person conference.


Past Recipients

2023: North American Partners in Anesthesia (NAPA) - "Anesthesia Risk Alert (ARA) Program"
2022: Texas Health Resources - "Turn your Attention to Patient Safety"
2021: Atrium Health - "Product Safety Response Teams – An Innovative Program to Improve Patient Safety and Prevent Harm from Supply Chain Disruptions"
2020: Johns Hopkins Medicine - "The Johns Hopkins Medicine Venous Thromboembolism Collaborative"
2019: Lake Health - "Improving Care of the Patient with Post-Operative Respiratory Failure"
2018: Adventist Health System - "Improving Patient Safety by Incorporating a Human Factors Engineering Approach to the Root Cause Analysis Process Following Serious Safety Events"
2017: Abington Hospital, Jefferson Health - "Create a Safe Night"
2016: Greater Baltimore Medical Center, GBMC Healthcare, Inc. - "Using Lean Daily Management (LDM) Improves Safety and Reduces Harm"