ASHRM Patient Safety Award

The American Society for Health Care Risk Management Patient Safety Award recognizes organizational excellence in patient safety and celebrates the efforts of risk professionals in promoting patient safety across the health care enterprise.


2023 Patient Safety Award Recipient

Presented By

RLDatix Logo



North American Partners in Anesthesia (NAPA)
"Anesthesia Risk Alert (ARA) Program"



What Do the Recipients Get?

  • Engraved prestigious crystal award
  • Receives up to two complimentary registrations for the annual conference during which the award is received
  • Will be honored during the ASHRM in-person annual conference
  • Winners of the ASHRM Patient Safety Award will be provided the opportunity to present their submission during a bite-sized learning session. This is a 20 minute speaking opportunity on the Solution Center floor during the in-person conference.

Award Eligibility and Selection Criteria

Candidates may be nominated by an ASHRM member or self-nominate.

Selection Criteria:

  • Demonstrates a new approach that has not yet gained national exposure
  • Promotes an organizational culture of safety
  • Supports collaboration with other providers and within the continuum of care
  • Provides a system that can be replicated or adapted by other organizations

All Applicants Must:

  • Complete all sections of the application
  • Provide supplemental materials as requested
  • Submit an application

Submissions for applications are closed.

Past Recipients

2022: Texas Health Resources - "Turn your Attention to Patient Safety"
2021: Atrium Health - "Product Safety Response Teams – An Innovative Program to Improve Patient Safety and Prevent Harm from Supply Chain Disruptions"
2020: Johns Hopkins Medicine - "The Johns Hopkins Medicine Venous Thromboembolism Collaborative"
2019: Lake Health - "Improving Care of the Patient with Post-Operative Respiratory Failure"
2018: Adventist Health System - "Improving Patient Safety by Incorporating a Human Factors Engineering Approach to the Root Cause Analysis Process Following Serious Safety Events"
2017: Abington Hospital, Jefferson Health - "Create a Safe Night"
2016: Greater Baltimore Medical Center, GBMC Healthcare, Inc. - "Using Lean Daily Management (LDM) Improves Safety and Reduces Harm"