ASHRM Health Care Risk Management Professional of the Year Award


The ASHRM Risk Manager of the Year Award is an award that recognizes an outstanding individual for their advancement and service to health care risk management.


Nominees for this award must meet the following requirements:

  1. Anyone who currently practices or supports health care risk management for a health care organization; such as financial institution, government entity, risk management consultation, insurance industry, or legal practice.
  2. Must be a current ASHRM member
  3. Demonstrated leadership through one of the following criteria:
    1. CPHRM  
    2. Past ASHRM or State/Regional Chapter committee member or chair
    3. Speaker at ASHRM Annual Conference, webinar or State/Regional Chapter Conference
    4. Past member of ASHRM or State/Regional Chapter Board
    5. Serve as ASHRM faculty
    6. FASHRM
    7. DFASHRM


All sections of the nomination submission must be complete
Individuals may be nominated by an ASHRM member or self-nominated

Judging Panel

Nominations will be blinded and evaluated by a select committee of ASHRM volunteer leaders (Review Committee)
The Review Committee will deem incomplete nominations ineligible
The Review Committee will submit their recommendation for the award to the ASHRM Board
The ASHRM Board will select the award winner


Each nomination will be scored in the following areas:

  1. Work as an effective collaborator to produce positive results
  2. Deeply committed to risk management and contributes to the advancement and service to the risk management community
  3. Shows outstanding innovation through creativity when confronted with challenges, issues or a need or desire for improvement
  4. Strong leadership skills through the ability to guide and inspire others
  5. Demonstrate value creation through design and implementation of specific risk management strategies that enhance the competitive position or reputation of his/her own or client health care organization


Submit application to