

## For Immediate Release

Contact: ASHRM

Phone: (312) 422-3980 Email: ASHRM@aha.org

## ASHRM Recognizes Barbara McCarthy for the ASHRM 2020 Risk Management Professional of the Year Award

The American Society of Health Care Risk Management (ASHRM) granted the ASHRM Risk Management Professional of the Year Award to Barbara McCarthy, RN, MPH, CIC, CPHQ, CPHRM, FASHRM of Beverly Hospital, member of Lahey Health.

McCarthy, a former ASHRM Board member, was recently elected by her peers to serve as President in 2022. She is currently the deputy-chair of the ERM Task Force and a mentor to many in the health care risk management profession.

McCarthy's dedication, vision, and leadership in continuous risk reduction, process improvement and innovation are evident in her everyday work.

The Risk Management Professional of the Year award recognizes an outstanding individual for the advancement and service to the profession of health care risk management. A panel of their peers selects the award recipient, based on selection criteria emphasizing leadership, service and positive outcomes.

ASHRM will recognize McCarthy's achievement during the ASHRM 2020 40<sup>th</sup> Anniversary Conference, an online-only virtual event to be held October 12-14, 2020.

The American Society for Health Care Risk Management (ASHRM) is a professional membership group of the American Hospital Association (AHA), with over 6,000 members representing risk management, patient safety, insurance, legal, and other related interests.

ASHRM promotes effective and innovative risk management strategies and professional leadership through education, advocacy, publications, networking and interactions with leading healthcare organizations and government agencies.