Call for Nominations: ASHRM’s Distinguished Service Award 2015 is Open

The ASHRM Distinguished Service Award is the highest honor bestowed on an individual by ASHRM, in recognition of a single achievement or lifetime contribution. Please take a few moments to recognize one of your peers by completing the simple nomination form.

To have the opportunity to annually recognize an individual ASHRM member who has made significant contributions to ASHRM and the profession of health care risk management.

The applicant must be an ASHRM member with a minimum of five years membership in ASHRM. Current ASHRM board members and officers are ineligible, but committee and task force chairs who are not board members may be nominated.

An applicant may be nominated by any ASHRM member, but no applicant may nominate himself or herself. The Nomination Form must be completed by the nominator and should include sufficient information to demonstrate the nominee's qualifications.

ASHRM Distinguished Service Award Nomination Form. Submit online at

All forms must be received no later than Friday, Aug. 28, 2015.

Judging Process
All submissions are judged by the ASHRM Board of Directors according to established criteria, a summary of which is included below. Top applicants may be requested to provide additional information. In addition, the ASHRM board may contact work, personal and ASHRM parties to seek more information.

The following criteria represent the qualities that the board will consider as most demonstrative of the applicant's dedication and commitment to the profession of health care risk management. An applicant need not fulfill all criteria to be considered for the award.

  • Active participation in ASHRM, e.g., service on the Board of Directors, committees, task forces, webinars, panels, publications, etc.
  • Active participation in local or regional risk management organizations or affiliated chapters
  • Major contributions to the advancement of the profession of risk management through authorship, teaching, research in risk management, etc.

Symbol of Award
The honoree receives an award along with a waiver of the registration fee for ASHRM’s Annual Conference during which the award is bestowed. If a nominee is selected, the 2015 Distinguished Service Award is presented on Sunday, Oct. 18, 2015 during the annual business meeting at the ASHRM 2015 Annual Conference & Exhibition.

Past Distinguished Service Award Recipients

1991 - R. Stephen Trosty
1992 - Steven L. Salman
1993 - Ellen L. Barton
1994 - Jane M. Bryant
1996 - Audrey Vanagunas
1997 - Roberta Carroll
1998 - Fay Rozovsky
2000 - Harlan Hammond
2001 - John C. West

2003 - Robert F. Bunting
2004 - Geri Amori
2005 - Joyce Benton
2007 - Pamela Popp
2008 - Peggy Nakamura
2010 - Monica Berry
2011 - Sylvia Brown
2013 - Michelle Hoppes
2014 - Leilani Kicklighter


ASHRM Distinguished Service Award Nomination Form. Submit online at